From 1 - 1 / 1
  • Categories  

    Waverider buoys measure wave height, wave period and (if directional) wave direction. The currently available buoys with their corresponding World Meteorological Organization (WMO) number are: Bureau of Meteorology waverider buoys (ten minute observations) - at Cape du Couedic/Kangaroo Island, South Australia (55040) and Cape Sorell, Tasmania (55026). Western Australia Department of Transport (DOT) directional waverider buoys (three hourly observations) - at Jurien (56004), Rottnest Island (56005), Cape Naturaliste (56006), Cottesloe (56008), Esperance (56010), Albany (56011), Mandurah (56014). Queensland Department of Environment and Science (DES) waverider buoys (all directional except for Bundaberg, 30 minute observations) - at Albatross Bay (52121), North Moreton Bay (55027), Cairns (55028), Townsville (55029), Mooloolaba (55030), Hay Point (55032), Emu Park (55033), Gold Coast (55036), Tweed Heads (55037), Gladstone (55038), Caloundra (55045), Bundaberg (55046). The wave buoy data is issued in GTS bulletins (which are only available for 24 hours) : IOWK01 (in BUFR format) and SWWE01 (CREX format). The data is collated by the Bureau into a CSV file (containing the last 24 hours of observations) which is updated every hour, at 5 minutes past the hour. This data is provided via WFS to the AODN, and available via download by CSV.